11 Comments

I think it did! Whenever I’m off Instagram, I feel more at ease and create without pressure. But as soon as I log on or plan on sharing it on Instagram, I become supercritical and insecure. I’m trying to log on to Instagram only every four days or so; I check my DMs. I even wish I could switch off notes here because it’s also becoming toxic.

Expand full comment

Yes, I think capitalism which has turned art/culture and self-expression into a commodity combined with our social media obssessed world of self-promotion and external validation absolutely makes it difficult for anyone to share their work without falling into the trap of equating self-worth with the number of likes and shares they get on social media (those likes and shares in my mind are just another form of "payment" for self-expression).

Expand full comment